Skip to content
For Your Marriage

Nuptial Mass Readings

The readings at a Catholic wedding liturgy are a proclamation of God’s Word and of the Church’s faith about marriage. For this reason, they are limited to readings from the scriptures (the Bible). There are nine options for the first reading from the Old Testament, thirteen options for the second reading from the New Testament, and ten choices for the Gospel. You choose one from each of these categories.

You may find it helpful to reflect prayerfully on each reading and to choose those that speak to your hopes and dreams for your Christian marriage. The links below include the reading options in their entirety, as well as commentary to provide some context and highlight key themes in each reading.

Old Testament Readings

Responsorial Psalms

New Testament Readings

Gospel Readings

For more information on how Scripture is used during Mass, please visit the Liturgy page on the USCCB’s website.